February Hits and Misses

So this is my first hits and misses post! Let’s start off with the hits!

Soap and Glory Face Soap and Clarity

This face wash is amazing. It contains small pink exfoliating beads and gives your skin a good clean without drying it out and making your skin feel really tight if you know what I mean? It has a lovely fresh smell and while it’s a bit more expensive that the Simple face wash that I was using I think it’s been a good change. It costs £8.00 from Boots and it’s on 3 for 2 quite a lot. I don’t think id recommend this for dry skin though, this has helped stop me being so oily (first wash that I’ve used that has made a difference on my oiliness! Not a massive difference though.)

L’Oreal Skin Perfection Serum

I have fallen back in love with the Skin Perfection range. As I mentioned on my Update post, I was talked out of using L’Oreal products by a few people on Makeup Alley. I was really suffering with my skin with i moved back to the UK from Germany and I had a discussion on Makeup Alley and it resulted in me no longer using L’Oreal products as they allegedly contain skin irritating ingredients… So I stopped using them for well over 6 months and had acne and it was awful and it just sucked. And then I went back to using them at the beginning of February and they haven’t irritated my skin at all. This serum makes your skin feel like velvet after applying, it’s lovely and moisturising and has a nice smell that’s difficult to describe. Whilst it hasn’t minimised my pores (I don’t think anything other that a decent peel will) I like the feel this has on my skin. 

L’Oreal Skin Perfection Moisturiser

Another product that I have fallen back in love with and wish I didn’t stop using. Melts into the skin beautifully, makes my skin feel like velvet. Again, hasn’t reduced my pores but don’t expect it to. Definitely worth buying if you are over 25 as it’s good to start using something to start targeting the ‘first signs of ageing’ lol.

Soap and Glory Make Yourself Youthful Eye Cream

A brand new product for me, this is quite a thick cream that really moisturises the eye area. It has light reflecting particles to help hide any dark circles, you still need a concealer though. A little goes a long way with this so use sparingly. I don’t think I would use this without makeup (I wear makeup every day so not a problem for me) as the light reflects are really bright, a little on the shiny side. 

L’Oreal Infalliable Foundation

I know I’m repeating myself about the L’Oreal products but this was my favourite foundation for so long, stopped using it, tried loads of others and nothing compares. In my opinion, this is way better than True Match! This gives beautiful medium/full coverage. It sets rather quickly so you have to work quickly with it. I use the shade 102 Vanilla which I love as it doesn’t have a strong pink undertone. I have oily skin so I doesn’t last the 16 or 12 hours that it advertises but I can get a full day out of it if I powder periodically through the day. I only need to use a little concealer with this when I have breakouts. Do not buy if you want a ‘natural looking’ foundation. 

And now to the misses….

Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Eye Cream Colour Correction

Let me start by saying I bought this wanting a brightening under eye concealer. This gives no coverage whatsoever. It has no colour correcting properties, I apply it and blend it and it disappears. But it’s doesn’t just disappear, it creases like crazy even though I go over the stuff with setting powder. Within half an hour of applying I look like I have massive lines under my eyes that makes me look so old! I’ve tried blending with a brush, beauty blender and my fingers. It’s rubbish and it’s going in th bin!

Elvive Fibrology Thickening Shampoo and Conditioner

I have pretty fine hair that’s just flat on my scalp so was hoping this would give it a bit more body. It hasn’t done anything except make it greasy within a day of washing it. I have my hair tied up for work everyday, I don’t really do anything with it (I’m more of a makeup than hair person) so it’s not because I’m messing with it a lot that it gets so greasy… It hasn’t given any more body to my hair it’s just a gimmick in my opinion. 

So that’s my hits and misses! Hope you all enjoyed! Let me know what your hits and misses were for the last month ❤

6 thoughts on “February Hits and Misses

  1. Skin care is so personal. I’ve been talked out of using quite a few things that after I realized worked well for me. There are a few people who really take ownership over the skincare boards… On the other hand I’ve gotten a few good recommendations from there. It’s all about process of elimination and sadly costs quite a bit of money to find what works! If Loreal works for you then stick with it!

    Like

    1. The people I was discussing my routine with only used all natural and organic products on their skin so I gave that a go, using only Lush products and my skin got even worse 😦 I agree, skincare is personal to everyone, it’s a shame it takes so much trial and error and naturally a lot of money to get the perfect routine.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have be hesitating to switch from my L’Oréal True Match to the Infaillible foundation, but I think I will try it out since it gave you such great results! I also have an oily skin (which is a problem I struggle a lot with when it comes to finding good foundations). Do you use a primer before and set it up with powder afterwards?

    Like

    1. I found that true match just slid off my skin. I use the L’Oreal skin perfection instant blur on my cheeks where I have white big pores and a little on my nose. It’s like a cheaper version of the porefessional by benefit. I also use the L’Oreal CC cream – the green version then apply the foundation and I set it with Bourjois Healthy radiance pressed powder. Hope that helps 😊 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

