May Hits and Misses

Hi everyone, so last month I didn’t write a hits and misses post as I was just using up what I already had and didn’t really buy much, this month however, i have quite a few things to share with you all, so lets start with the hits 🙂

May Hits

IMG_0912

Cocoa Brown by Marissa Carter 1 Hour Tan Mousse

I bought this on a bit of a whim, I got fed up of using gradual tanners that really smelt awful and wanted something that was quick to use but was a bit more higher quality than the St Moriz mousse. Not that I am saying the St Moriz mousse isn’t good, I used it for a few years on ad off but it smelt awful and always made me orange. Anyway, i bought this and wasn’t really expecting much but I was very pleasantly surprised! It has a guide colour in so you can tell where you are putting it and also doesn’t smell really awfully of fake tan. It states that it has a signature Tahitian Gardenia scent, which it does but it you leave it on over night you do get that fake tan smell but it goes away once you wash the guide colour off. I normally either use it on a day when I am not leaving the house and put it on in the morning and leave it on for around 5 hours or I leave it on overnight. If you use it for the hour stated then you get a light glow and then it deepens the longer you leave it on. It doesn’t make me orange! I am quite fair so I just bought the normal colour, I think there is a dark shade in this range too but I wouldn’t use it as I would probably end up being orange. This is now going to be the fake tan I will use for a long time, and it costs £7.99 which in my opinion is very affordable. The only downfall of this is that it doesn’t come in a pump like a lot of other mousses do so you don’t have as much control over how much you are dispensing but I’m already over that!

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Light Moisturiser

This feels amazing on the skin, if you have been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know that I have been on a hunt for a good moisturiser and this is it. I’m glad I bought the Light version and not Rich as I think that would have been way too much for my skin, but this doesn’t aggravate my skin and it leaves a smooth base (well as smooth as it can be) for my makeup. This was £18.00 and well worth the money in my opinion, and also, the packaging is beautiful. I may look into the Vichy serums next and see how they compare.

Simple Micellar Cleansing Water

I have been using the Garnier Micellar water for a while now, must have purchased it at least 5 times and thought it was great, absolutely no complaints at all but then when I was running low I saw that this one was on offer and thought that I would give it a ago, as it is Simple I knew it wasn’t going to aggravate my skin so I had nothing to loose. I really didn’t think there was any difference in micellar waters, I had used the Vichy Normaderm one before and it worked and felt just the same as the Garnier one. This one though, it’s hard to explain but when you put it on the cotton pad and then apply it to your face it feels so soft and soothing, I’m using exactly the same cotton pads but for some reason they feel even softer when using this product… Maybe it is just me but I love ho it feels so I will be buying this again for sure.

L’Oreal Paris Color Riche Extrodanaire – Rose Melody

I have been eyeing the YSL Tint in Oils since they were launched but have not had a chance to test them out and I thought that this would kind of be similar only more pigmented so I thought I’d try one out. This is marketed as a high shine liquid lipstick which I would have to disagree on, it’s a highly pigmented lip gloss but all the same, it’s a wonderful product, very moisturising and the shade Rose Melody is a your lips but better shade. It’s pretty much all I have been wearing on my lips throughout May and I will be repurchasing this once it runs out. I’m not to keen on the other shades though, they’re a bit dark for my liking but I am obsessed with this, the only downfall with this is the packaging, it looks sleek and  pretty until you realize that it is a sticker on the side and bottom that shows what the shade is which in my opinion, makes it look a bit cheap.

Urban Decay Afterglow Blush – Score

I’m not going to go on too much about this as I have a full blog post review on it but it’s amazing. A beautiful peachy pink with a slight gold shimmer that makes your cheeks look wonderfully flushed with a very slight shimmer to them. Oh how I have missed this blush, thank you Urban Decay for bringing it back, will for sure be buying it again!

Lancome La Vie Est Belle

I tried this out a while ago and was torn between this and Black Opium by YSL. My boyfriend bought me the Black Opium and I got this as a deluxe sample from http://www.feelunique.com when I bought my Vichy moisturiser. Now, I’m not very good at describing fragrances so please bear with me but it’s fresh and girly and very summery. Think Miss Dior but not so overpowering. When this sample runs out I will be buying the full size.

May Misses

IMG_0913

First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Daily Face Cream

This stuff is awful, it’s marketed for sensitive skin and does absolutely nothing but made my skin feel dehydrated and also made me break out. I stuck with it for around 6 weeks, the bottle is 3/4 gone but it definetley wasn’t for me. It didn’t make my skin feel moisturised in any way shape or form. I kind of expect that feeling from a serum maybe but not a moisturiser. Very disappointed.

No 7 Beautifully Matte Mousse – Cool Beige

It’s not so much the product that I am disappointed in, its the massive lack of shade range, 3 shades, that is it. I thought I had bought a shade that would suit me but it doesn’t at all, even when I am tanned, it’s very pink and makes it look so obvious that you are wearing make up because of how pink it is. When I first used this product years ago it used to have a good shade range and I used to buy Blonde which was amazing. If they had the shade range they used to I would keep buying this because the formula is great but it’s not for me anymore.

First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads

These, alongside the above moisturiser are the first things I have bought from First Aid Beauty and its’ going to be the last. These things broke me out like crazy on the tops of my cheeks and on my temples and I am still waiting for them to fully go down and I have not used them for a few weeks now. It annoys me that these are marketed for sensitive skin but they do not agree with mine at all, I don’t know what they put in their products but there is something that really doesn’t agree with me. I heard so many great things about these only to be massively disappointed, if you are looking at buying these, be cautious as they may not work for you.

So that is everything! I hope you liked this post, please like and follow my blog if you did and I will be back next week ❤

Leave a Reply

