August Hits and Misses

Its that time of month already guys, hits and misses! I bought quite a few new products in August, the majority of which I have loved but today I am going to host my top picks and my not so hot picks. 

August Hits

Naobay Calming Face Toner

  

This is an item that I got in my August Glossybox and I can finally say that I have a toner that I love. This is really gentle and soothing on the skin and is great for getting rid of any last little traces of makeup that may be left after cleansing. It doesn’t really smell of anything and it contains over 99% natural ingredients so it’s great for anyone who is looking for more natural skincare. I’m really happy that Glossybox sent me this, it’s the second item from the brand that they have sent and I am for sure going to look at buying more products from this brand. 

Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation 

  

After being on a foundation hunt for a while but not wanting to part with high end prices, I came across this little beauty. This foundation has a great medium coverage that is buildable and stays on for a decent amount of time before needing to be touched up. I also found that it doesn’t settle too much into any fine lines that are starting to emerge on my forehead. It smells beautiful too. If you are looking for a buidable medium coverage foundation then give this one a try, the price is right and I have found it really really good, will be buying this one again. It’s not to be mixed up with the Healthy Mix Serum foundation though, I tried a sample of that, applied it as usual with a damp Real Techniques sponge and it didn’t look like I had anything on my face at all. 

the Balm Sexy Mama Anti-Shine Translucent Powder

  

Staying with face products, this is what I have been using to set the above foundation, and my base makeup has been looking better than it has done in a long time. These two are a match made in heaven. This powder is really finely milled, it doesn’t kick up when you put your brush in and as its translucent, it doesn’t add any more colour to your face which I like personally. If you are struggling to find the Balm products, head over to http://www.feelunique.com as they ship internationally. 

Anastasia Beverly Hills Shadow Couture World Traveller Palette

  

Such a long name for a palette but this is amazing! I had never tried ABH eyeshadows and after using this palette I see what the hype is about. Absolutely love this, I have written a full review on this so I’m not going to keep on about it but check out my full review here – 

https://stephaniealexandra88.wordpress.com/2015/08/08/anastasia-beverley-hills-shadow-couture-palette-review/

Real Techniques Duo Fibre Eye Brush

  

When I first got this brush I thought that the white fibres would be way too long but they are actually perfect for blending out eyeshadows in the crease. It takes a bit of getting used to as it is quite a long brush but I thin it gives a great diffused blend to any eye look. 

Bourjois Color Boost Glossy Finish Lipstick – Proudly Naked

   

 

I am a sucker for these crayon style lip sticks as they are really moisturising on the lips, easy to apply and feel very comfortable. This one I find is a perfect everyday natural nude lip colour, it’s pigmented but not too pigmented and gives a beautiful sheen to the lips. I think I may have to look at other shades in the range 🙂

A random hit this month has been a book that I managed to read in less than a week as I couldn’t stop reading it! I read it travelling to work, back from work and before bed as the plot was so intensely gripping. If you are into psychological crime thrillers, check out Eeny Meeny by M.J. Arlidge 🙂

August Misses

Avène Skin Recovery Cream

  

Hmmm, I bought this as I have really enjoyed the Avène eye cream and I liked the sound of this one as it claims to help reduce redness and irritation. It doesn’t calm redness or irritation though, it’s just a very basic moisturiser for sensitive skin. I wish I had stuck with Vichy instead of buying this as its very basic and I just don’t like it. I found the formula very similar to Simple Hydrating Light Moisturiser which is around 1/4 of the price of this one. 

So that is everything for this month guys, what have your hits and misses been this month? Don’t forget to like this post if you liked it and follow my blog to get notified whenever I publish a new post. Take care everyone, have a fab weekend and I will be back soon ❤

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/stephaniealexandra88

Leave a Reply

