January 2016 UK Birchbox

Hello everyone, hope you all had a great weekend! To kick start this week I have my first Birchbox unboxing of 2016 to share with you. So this month’s box is a collaboration with Pinterest and has been designed to help you plan your ‘Best. Year. Ever.’ Pinterest isn’t a platform that I’ve really used to be honest but after seeing my box I decided to open an account and after following a few categories, I have seen that it is full of inspiration from food ideas to yoga, makeup to travel which makes for a wonderful platform to use. Anyway, back to the box! 

january 2016 uk birchbox 
There are 6 products in the box, one full size and the rest samples and also some cute postcards designed by Viktorija Semjonova:

 january 2016 uk birchbox 

which have been designed to help inspire you throughout the year and to hit your personal goals, now let’s get into the products:

Absolution L’Eau Soir et Matin

 absolution l'eau soir et matin 

For those of you that don’t speak French (like me!) this is a micellar cleansing water. This contains hazelnut oil and aloe vera which are designed to soothe and purify the skin. Lately I have been switching between cleansing oils and micellar waters to remove my makeup so it’s nice to have a new one to try. This smells really nice, it’s quite aromatic and you can really smell the natural oils in it. The full size is expensive though, at £27 if I do like it I can’t see myself parting with that much money for a cleansing water. 

Jelly Pong Pong Lighten Up Brightener + Waterliner

 jelly pong pong lighten up brightener 

I received an almost identical product to this in a Glossybox a few months ago and at first glance, I thought it was the same thing and really it is, just a different brand! This is a matte highlighting pencil which can be used all over your face and also your waterline to help make your eyes look more awake. I use the So Susan one that I got in my Glossybox everyday so this one is good to have in my handbag for throughout the day. This is the only full size item in th box and retails at £14.95. 

Parlor Moisturising & Repairing Shampoo and Conditioner

 parlor shampoo and conditioner 

I received a texturising sea salt spray from this brand in a box a few months ago and I’ve really enjoyed using it so I’m happy to try something else from this brand. The one thing that I don’t like when Birchbox send shampoo and conditioner samples is that the always send the shampoo in a cute bottle that contains about 30ml and then the conditioner comes in a sachet with less than half the amount of the shampoo! Well, these products are designed to hydrate the hair and help to repair without weighing it down and they smell divine! They have the brand’s signature scent of ‘ripe peach, fresh cut grass and white woods’ and it is beautiful. 

Crabtree & Evelyn La Source Ultra Moisturising Hand Therapy

 crabtree and evelyn la source hand therapy 

I have such a stock of hand creams at the moment that it’s going to so long to get through them all! This one is a lovely addition to my collection, it contains seaweed and algae extracts which are designed to hydrate the skin and it smells beautiful and fresh. 

Benefit They’re Real Tinted Lash Primer

 benefit theyre real tinted lash primer 

When I opened my box, this was the first thing I saw and I was so excited! I have seen this everywhere on social media and whilst I was intrigued about the concept, I didn’t want to commit to buying the full size and then not to like it. This product has two used, you can use it alone for a natural lash look or you can use it beneath mascara to add more volume and separation. I tried this out this morning and I was so happy with the results I didn’t bother using mascara over the top. I’ve always used black mascara and this has a brown tint to it so I’m shocked that I like it so much on its own. It separates and adds definition, looks great on the lower lashes and your lashes feel soft and not crunchy like they can do with mascara. Love it!

Birchbox Compact Mirror

 birchbox compact mirror 

The final product in my box is this little compact mirror from the Birchbox brand. You can never have enough mirrors so this is a lovely addition to the box and I quite like the #nofilter quote on the back. 

What I like about Birchbox is the variation of products that you receive, it’s not just focused on one area like skincare for example. Everything that I have tried so far I have really enjoyed so this box has a big thumbs up from me. What are your thoughts on this month’s box? Did you get any different products? Let me know in the comments below. Take care everyone and I’ll be back soon ❤

Facebook – stephaniealexandra88

Instagram – stephaniealexandrablogs

Twitter – StephanieABlogs

7 thoughts on “January 2016 UK Birchbox

  1. Birchbox was my first beauty subscription for a year a while ago. I canceled it because it turned out to be more like a spa related box (more skincare samples) and I didn’t wanted those type of samples. To me at the end was like paying for just cute packaging. I joined ipsy and I’ve been a subscriber for 2 years in a row now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glossybox was my first subscription box and I received my final one today. They are more focused on skincare where I like to choose my own so getting skincare samples all the time was a bit of a bore. I personally find Birchbox a lot more balanced. I always see ipsy bags on YouTube and other social media but unfortunately for me it’s not available in the U.K. 😞 thanks for reading xx

      Like

  2. You’re welcome! I think ipsy is still run by a small group of girls that pack the bags every month, I can tell why they haven’t reached UK yet like Birchbox. I find it better than Birchbox because I have received way more makeup and makeup tools from it. The think with ipsy is they’re not customized as they say: people still receive the samples they check in their quizzes and reviews don’t want to receive. But it is something they’re not interested to fix because they still have huge demand from new customers to join, so why bothering on changing things for those who are subscribers if they’re constantly receiving new members? But as I said, I still like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

