Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette Review

The Urban Decay Naked 2 palette… I have owned the original Naked palette since its release and I must say, it’s been very well loved, to the point that it looks pretty tatty against its shiny new sister version. I remember when the Naked 2 was released and I thought that it was too similar to the original Naked palette to warrant purchasing so I held off and it was only when I bought the Naked 2 for my sister in law for her 18th birthday I realised how different these two palettes actually were so it went onto my Christmas list and my boyfriend bought it for me.   

 urban decay naked 2 

First things first, let’s get into the packaging. The outer box is a gorgeous taupe colour with the logos in a gold metallic foil with a printed image of each of the shades inside. The latest version of the palette comes with a dual ended brush and also a mini sample pod of each version of Eyeshadow Primer Potion which is all detailed on the back of the box. The actual palette itself is a vast improvement packaging wise in comparison with the original, instead of the flimsy cardboard with the velvety flock overlay, the Naked 2 is housed in a metal tin, again with the logos embossed on the front in a metallic gold tying in with the outer box. 

 urban decay naked 2 
When you open the palette up, you have a mirror running the full length of it which is also hinged so it can hold itself up so it is actually a useful mirror! You have a compartment for the brush and then 12 shades of eyeshadow, so let’s get into the shade range!

Foxy – this is a matte kind of fleshed toned colour that has a strong yellow undertone. I thought at first I could use this to set my eyeshadow base but for my porcelain skin, it is too yellow, I do think it would be perfect for people with more medium skin tones though. 

Half Baked – this is a pretty iconic Urban Decay shade and it features in several of their palettes. It’s a beautiful metallic gold that suits everyone. When I compare it to my original Naked palette, it’s a lot paler so I think they may have reformulated this one. 

Bootycall – I thought this shade was a little unusual at first as its a pinky champagne colour but has a tiny little bit of micro glitter running through, however the glitter doesn’t really show through much which makes this perfect for a brow bone and inner corner highlight. 

Chopper – an oldie but a goodie. This shade was in the first Urban Decay palette I ever bought about ten years ago! I can’t remember the name of the palette but it was silver and had a little pink skull and cross bones on the front, leave me a comment if you remember the palette I’m talking about! Anyway, this is a stunning copper with micro glitter and it’s as beautiful as I remember it. 

Tease – back to mattes, this is a cool toned taupe that is great in the crease. If you don’t use a transition shade I find that this one tends to skip a little when you are applying it so bear that in mind, I find the shade naked from Urban Decay is perfect as a transition to this shade. 

Snakebite – this shade is a beautifully metallic bronzey brown colour, a little dark for my liking as I don’t really wear dark eyeshadow very often but beautiful nonetheless. 

Suspect – when I first used this palette, this was the first shade I used. It’s a gorgeous silvery taupe that’s metallic but not too much, however you can apply it wet to intensify the metallic finish. 

Pistol – with Suspect I used this shade on the outer corner, this is a metallic gun metal grey. It’s quite intense so you only need a little of this to get the colour payoff you want. 

Verve – you don’t really see silver eyeshadow anymore, I think it was over used in the nineties so everyone steers clear of it now! However, when well applied, silver eyeshadow can look stunning, I like layering this over Suspect to create a ‘halo’ eye. 

YDK – another oldie but a goodie, I remember using this shade years ago, it’s a unique copper bronze mix and has a little micro glitter but it’s really not too much. Looking at the palette now, this shade looks like the love child of Chopper and Snakebite. 

Busted – to me this shade is is like a metallic dark chocolate brown, as its a very dark shade I’ve not used it but it’s well pigmented and it doesn’t have too much of a metallic finish in a way that can be intimidating. 

Blackout – lastly we have the matte black which I’m sure you all know about so I won’t go on about this!

 urban decay naked 2 swatches

Left to right: Foxy, Half Baked, Bootycall, Chopper, Tease, Snakebite, Suspect, Pistol, Verve, YDK, Busted, Blackout  

If you couldn’t already tell, I am so in love with this palette, I really wish I’d bought it sooner. Yes I know it doesn’t have many mattes which a lot of people really want but for me, I only need a few which I already own that I can use for pretty much any makeup look. What I love about this palette is that the colours are so versatile, when you compare to the original Naked palette, there’s so many dark shades that you are limited to what you can do for day time appropriate looks whereas this one has a good variation of colours. The brush inside also surprised me a lot, I didn’t think I would use it much but I reach for it over my Sigma eyeshadow brushes which says a lot for something that came in a palette, normally the quality of brushes in palettes are substandard so this was a great surprise. As always, the shadows have great pigmentation, they last a long time on the eyes and I found that I get a lot less fallout in comparison to some of my older Urban Decay shadows as I believe they have reformulated them recently. 

I have gone on way too much so I’m going now, what are your thoughts on the Naked 2 palette? Would you like me to do a review of the originals? Let me mow in the comments. Take care and I’ll be back soon ❤

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/stephaniealexandra88

Instagram – @stephaniealexandrablogs

One thought on “Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette Review

Leave a Reply

