April 2016 UK Birchbox

Hi everyone! So I’m sure a lot of you are aware that Birchbox had some serious fulfilment / despatch issues this month and I was effected by it. I should have got my box around 6th April and it didn’t arrive until over 2 weeks later. I had no response from contact I tried to make via Facebook or Instagram and my emails were being ignored. Eventually I did get a reply and to be honest, the representative I was emailing was lovely but there was no answer as to what the issue was! Birchbox were on Facebook and Instagram everyday promoting what was in this month’s box but not once did they address that there had been a mighty balls up with people’s boxes, if it had been addressed I wouldn’t have been so annoyed! 

So during the limbo time I saw what I was going to be receiving and I was not impressed, however when my box got re-despatched, the page where you can see what’s in your box disappeared. 

If you were an existing subscriber you got to choose which design box you got this month and it looks like my request was ignored as I received the wrong design… But I also got different products which softened the blow a little bit. Rant over, let’s actually get into the box!

april 2016 uk birchbox
So this month, Birchbox have teamed up with Rifle Paper Co. to bring two differently designed boxes and the products inside are aimed to help “your days bloom” I received 5 products this month, all sample sized – let’s have a look at them. 

Beaver Professional Shampoo & Conditioner 

beaver shampoo conditioner

I’ve received the exact same products in a previous box and they’re still in a drawer unused. These minis are great for travelling if you’re away for a small time but I seriously don’t like how the conditioner comes in a sachet! 

Kueshi Foot Care Cream

kueshi foot cream

Foot cream is never something I really look into buying, I just use whatever body moisturiser I’m using! As the weather is slowly getting warmer and sandal season is getting closer, it is time to start getting my feet looking a little better so I may use this. This product contains almond oil and Royal jelly to soften and tea tree oil (which it smells very strongly of) which is claimed to revive. 

Cynthia Rowley Eyeliner

cynthia rowley eyeliner

The packaging of this eyeliner is beautiful and this is a brand I’ve wanted to try for a while. My eyes however, do not like this eyeliner at all! It made them water so much when applying and smudged really quickly, I’m going to stick to my Urban Decay Waterline Pencil in future. 

Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse

nuxe huile prodigieuse

I already own a mini of the shimmer version of this oil and I love it so was happy to get this one. I like using this in the ends of my hair instead of a serum and also on any dry skin that needs something with a bit more power than a traditional cream. This oil smells beautiful too, I really like it and a little really goes a long way. 

Benefit Dew The Hoola

benefit dew the hoola

This product has been everywhere on social media! This is a matte liquid bronzer that is claimed to be natural looking and undetectable. I’d never used a liquid bronzer before so was very very careful when applying for the first time and I was pleasantly suprised at how nice this looked. It blends really quickly and does actually looks quite natural. The second time I tried this it lifted all my foundation underneath, even though I applied in the same way so I’m on the fence with this product. 

Overall thoughts? Not happy with the shipping and also lack of customer care this month and the box again wasn’t as good as I was expecting. I’m also quite embarrassed as I recommended a friend to Birchbox this month. I never had these issues with Glossybox and I was with them for a year. I have now cancelled my subscription with Birchbox as I don’t feel you get that much value for money, I took out the subscription as I liked how you got a good variety of products and also the points on your reviews but I’m going to use one of the samples this month and that’s it so it’s not worth the money in my opinion. 

What was your experience with Birchbox this month? Let me know in the comments 🙂 take care and I’ll be back Wednesday ❤

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/stephaniealexandra88

Instagram – stephaniealexandrablogs 

7 thoughts on “April 2016 UK Birchbox

    1. Thanks for reading 😊 I have just read your review, I’m glad the shipping to Ireland has got better for you! I have cancelled by subscription to Birchbox and have switched to Look Fantastic as I’ve not been happy with my last 2 Birchboxes xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve just had a look on their website and they ship to Ireland for free so you should be able to receive it 😊 it looks like the May box is despatching this week so you’ll get a new review soon 💕 xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

