Benefit The Porefessional Matte Rescue

If you’re a regular reader, you will know by now that I have pretty oily skin so when I saw this release from Benefit I knew I had to try it out! This is a gel designed to keep your skin matte and help reduce the look of pores, it comes in a generous 50ml size and retails for £21.50 which is a good price for the amount that you get, the original Porefessional costs £24.50. 

Packaging wise, it’s exactly what I’d expect from Benefit, it’s quirky and different and features the Porefessional illustration on the box and also the tube. The tube doesn’t have a pump and you squeeze the gel out. The gel has a slight blue tinge to it and is very delicately fragranced, when you apply it to the skin it feels very refreshing and cooling and absorbs quickly leaving no trace. 

benefit porefessional matte rescue
Here’s what Benefit claim this product does for you – “… This lightweight, water based gel overpowers shine and absorbs excess surface oil, leaving a natural looking matte finish. Blended with diamond powder known for its soft focus blurring effects, it instantly minimises the look of pores.”

I’ve been testing this out for around 2 to 3 months and have tried it with a few different foundations and I have to say, for me it does not live up to what Benefit claim it can do. Yes, when you apply it your skin looks matte but my skin is always matte and shine free before I apply makeup, it does nothing for the appearance of my pores and it doesn’t keep me matte during the day, in fact, I actually look more oily! I have found that the Stila Aqua Glow Primer keeps me matte for much longer than this does and that isn’t marketed as being a mattifing product! 

benefit porefessional matte rescue
This product may work for people who don’t wear makeup and have oily skin as you could apply it on your face throughout the day instead of a powder but I don’t see how this can work for someone who wears makeup. Looking at the box, it has some consumer panel surveys, “89% said it absorbs excess surface oil instantly” “92% said it mattifies shine instantly” so to me, this isn’t aimed at people who wear makeup. 

After using this product, it has left me a little confused as to what it’s supposed to do and when you should use it! My overall opinion is that is does nothing but maybe I am using it wrong? If you have tried this product and it works for you, let me know in the comments what I am doing wrong! Thanks for reading, take care and I’ll be back soon ❤

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/stephaniealexandra88

Instagram – stephaniealexandrablogs

Leave a Reply

