The Body Shop Chinese Ginseng and Rice Clarifying Polishing Mask Review

Hello everyone, I hope that you are all well! If you’re a regular reader, you’ll know that I love the Himalayan Charcoal Mask from The Body Shop, but as always, I like to mix things up so have recently been using a different mask from the range. 

In summer 2016, The Body Shop released a range of 5 superfood face masks, each formulated to target different skin types and concerns. As I’m of the oily, difficult skin type, the purifying and clarifying masks have been the ones that have I have gravitated towards. 

As with all masks in the range, the packaging feels and looks very luxe. You have a grey outer box which contains all the information on the product and then the mask itself is housed in a heavy brown glass jar with an oversized black lid which kind of reminds me of vintage pharmacy products. You get 75ml of product (the glass jar makes you feel like you’re getting more due to the weight) and costs £15.00. 

The body shop Chinese ginseng and rice clarifying polishing mask

The Body Shop claim the this mask “Inspired by Chinese traditions, our creamy exfoliating mask combines revitalising ginseng, moisturising rice extract and skin softening sesame seed oil to reveal brighter-looking, even, supple skin.”

The mask itself is a thick white cream and has a lot of very fine white exfoliating particles. It has a strange scent that I can’t quite describe, it’s definitely got lemon but I’m not sure what else. It’s not unpleasant but I don’t particularly like it. 

The body shop Chinese ginseng and rice clarifying polishing mask

When you apply the mask, it has a thick creamy consistency and it’s a little difficult to get an even layer over the skin even when applying it with a brush. It has a very slight tingle to it due to it containing salicylic acid but it’s hardly noticeable. When you leave the mask on, it doesn’t fully set and I feel like some of the mask sinks into the skin as after around ten minutes, the mask goes a bit more translucent. 

I remove the mask after around 15 minutes using a warm wash cloth and the particles provide a light but effective exfoliation. It’s really easy to remove which I was surprised with as I was expecting it to fully set like a more traditional clay mask due to it having a kaolin base. 

The body shop Chinese ginseng and rice clarifying polishing mask

Overall, I liked this mask as it’s gentle but effective. My skin feels lovely and soft after use and isn’t irritated at all. I don’t think it has any effectiveness on acne and blemish prone skin but I believe it is a lovely mask to use as an exfoliant for more sensitive skin types. If you found the Himalayan Charcoal mask too abrasive, this could be a good alternative. 

Have you tried this mask or any others from the range? Let me know your thoughts on them in the comments. Take care and I’ll be back next week ❤

2 thoughts on “The Body Shop Chinese Ginseng and Rice Clarifying Polishing Mask Review

Leave a Reply

