Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick Review

Hello everyone! So this is a post I never thought I’d be writing. If you’d have said 12 months ago that I would have purposely gone and bought liquid lipsticks, I would have laughed so much! Liquid lips to me were not appealing at all. I have dry lips all year round and the thought of putting a product on my lips that will dry them out even more just was not my cup of tea. However, after trying Kat Von D liquid lipstick after receiving it in a set, I actually liked using the product and it opened my eyes a little more to trying more liquid lips. 

Stila liquid lipstick

Fast forward to January sale time and I see that Stila have a set of 3 mini liquid lips for less than £13, so I thought let’s try these out. 

So in the set, you get 3 mini liquid lips in gorgeous neutral shades, Perla, Patina and Serenata. The packaging of these liquid lips is beautiful and I love the mixture of the matte and metallic gold. You only get 1.5ml of product in each which isn’t much but you get enough to get a good feel for the product and whether you like the colours. 

Stila liquid lipstick

Formula wise, this is more of a mousse type formula. It covers the lips with opaque colour in one swipe. The wand is like a flat doe foot, it has an angled tip but it’s flat on both sides so you can do your bottom lip with one side and then flip it over to do your top lip, the wand also picks up enough product to do both of your lips in one dip into the product. 

Stila liquid lipstick

I’ve been using these for 2 weeks now and I can say, I am really changing my mind towards liquid lips. These don’t dry out my lips like I expected them too. As long as the lips are exfoliated and you use a good quality lip balm before applying, these don’t make my lips dryer than they would get normally. I do still top up with lip balm throughout the day as that’s my preference but I don’t feel the need to if that makes sense?

Stila liquid lipstick swatches

Left to right: Perla, Patina, Serenata

Lasting power is quite impressive, I normally put mine on at around 7am and if I don’t apply lip balm at all, I can get around 10 hours wear out of this product. When I use lip balm, it does break down the lipstick and it wears off much quicker, it also changes the colour of Patina and once it’s worn off, it leaves a pinky red stain. I have also found that the first area to wear off is the corners of the mouth, they don’t crumble, but they do wear off. When they wear on the corners, you can easily top it up and it doesn’t feel uncomfortable applying another layer. 

Overall, I am really impressed with these liquid lips and I never thought I would say that. They are great to wear for work as they last so long and my opinion on liquid lips is changing and I want to try out more. Unfortunately this set is no longer available so I wasn’t going to post this review as 2 of the shades were limited edition, however, Stila have just released the shade Perla in their Spring / Summer collection so 2 of the shades (my favourite shades!) are available to purchase. 

What are your thoughts on liquid lips? Let me know your thoughts in the comments. Take care and I’ll be back next week ❤

16 thoughts on “Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick Review

    1. Hey! They do dry down matte and if you use a darker colour it can bring more attention to fine lines in the lips but I think that’s just the nature of the beast with anything that fully dries down. But you can get around it by popping a bit of lip balm over it, the longevity won’t be as good but it’ll look smoother 😊xx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This set is so lovely. I wish I would have purchased this when I had the chance. Like you, I have dry lips and try to avoid making that situation worse. I also do not like the way some liquid lips wear off – sticking to the drier bits and making things look even worse. I highly recommend Inglot’s – they are currently my favorite. The consistency is quite liquidy and when they sit for a while, oil starts to separate out which is probably why I like them so much. It applies almost like paint, feels light as air on, aren’t at all drying and wear off evenly. If you try one (or 8!), let me know what you think. I have two and wish I had all of them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

