February 2017 Empties 

Hello everyone! I hope you are all doing well. Apologies for the lack of posts recently. I’ve been feeling somewhat uninspired and when I have gone to write a post, my heart has not been in it so the content in my opinion was not worth posting. I’m out of the my little funk now so thought I would kick start by getting rid of my empties that I have gone through in January / February. As always, I’ll give a mini review and whether I’ll repurchase or not. Let’s get started! 

January 2017 empties

Alpha H Liquid Gold

I had wanted to try this for so long and was so happy to get this in a beauty box! It’s awesome, it helps clear up scarring left from acne and makes the skin look so fresh. I over used this when I first got it as I was dispensing the same amount as I would a micellar water, you really don’t need that much! Really recommend this. 

Repurchase? Yes (but currently testing a similar product)

Naobay Calming Face Toner

I didn’t notice any difference with this toner at all. It didn’t calm the skin and just seemed a waste of time. 

Repurchase? No

La Roche-Posay Serozinc

I’m not sure how I felt about this as I didn’t use it consistently. It’s quite refreshing but I didn’t notice any difference in my skin. 

Repurchase? No

January 2017 empties

La Roche-Posay Toleriane Fluide

This is my favourite moisturiser ever. It’s pretty basic but it is effective. It’s not irritating and sits beautifully under makeup. 

Repurchase? Yes

Renu Lip & Eye Active Lift

If you’re a regular reader you’ll know that I don’t really rate eye creams as I don’t see a difference. This one was nice to apply and hydrated the under eyes but there wasn’t any change in my fine lines. 

Repurchase? No 

REN Wake Wonderful Night Time Facial

This is a glycolic acid overnight treatment which works in a similar way to the Alpha H Liquid Gold. I loved how my skin looked the next day after using this but the effect is very similar to a glycolic acid toner so not sure now whether I’d buy the full size now. 

Repurchase? Maybe

The Body Shop Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask

This product changed my attitude to face masks! It’s amazing, it really helps clear the skin if you have acne prone skin. If you have very sensitive skin I’d get a sample to try out before buying the full size as it’s quite intense but this is the only face mask I’ve used that makes a difference on my acne. 

Repurchase? Yes

Garnier Moisture Bomb Tissue Mask

This is the first winter where I’ve actually had dry skin on my face. I normally have super oily skin but it’s changed slightly and is more combination. Anyway, as I’ve been getting dry skin on my forehead and nose, I thought I’d give this a go. It’s a pain to apply but it’s very moisturising and gets rid of the uncomfortable tight skin on my forehead. And they’re super cheap. 

Repurchase? Yes

Skin Republic CoQ10 Caviar Sheet Mask

This mask is pretty much the same as the Garnier one above. It works in exactly the same way, even smells similar. Don’t bother with this one, save some money and get the Garnier one. 

Repurchase? No

Bee Good Vanilla & Honey Lip Balm

I loved this so much I repurchased when I ran out but I found that it was actually drying my lips out more than when I wasn’t using it. I’m sure I’ve had this in a favourites previously but this isn’t something I’ll be using again. 

Repurchase? No

January 2017 empties

Lanolips Golden Ointment 

I used this as a lip balm before I went to bed and it lasted me over a year. It’s a very thick product that makes a barrier over the skin and helps repair it. I’m not sure whether this is even sold anymore but if it, it’s very effective on dry lips. 

Repurchase? Yes 

Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra

Hands down my favourite foundation. I can use this all year round, it’s got great coverage and lasts all day. It’s similar to Estée Lauder Double Wear but it’s not as heavy and I find that it doesn’t crack in expression lines. 

Repurchase? Yes

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

For me, the hype around this product is for a good reason. I prefer pen style liners and this is perfect as it has the practicality of a pen but it has the precision of a brush as the tip is a hair tip. It’s super black and lasts all day. 

Repurchase? Yes

GHD Straight & Smooth Spray

This has been a favourite of mine for many years. It keeps my hair straight once it’s been styled with my straighteners and keeps frizz at bay. I have been trying to find this online to get a new one but can’t find it! I think GHD are doing a bit of a rebrand of their products so maybe they’ve changed the name? I need to email them!

Repurchase? Yes 

January 2017 empties

Aussie Miracle Hairspray 

Didn’t like this hairspray really, it didn’t hold my hair at all and the nozzle clogged up really quickly. 

Repurchase? No

The Body Shop Satsuma Shower Gel

This is my favourite fruity fragrance from the Body Shop. It’s something I have used for years and will continue to in the summer. 

Repurchase? Yes 

Seche Vite Top Coat

If you want a top coat that dries extremely quickly and adds a gel like shine, this is the top coat for you. Unfortunately it gets thick and gloopy when you get around a third of the way down to bottle and it becomes impossible to work with. 

Repurchase? Yes

So there are all the products I’ve used up in the last few months. I didn’t realise how skincare heavy it was going to be but when I think about it, skincare is the thing I buy the most as I am on a quest for good skin! Thanks for reading, take care and I’ll be back next week ❤

Instagram – @stephaniealexandrablogs

4 thoughts on “February 2017 Empties 

Leave a Reply

